Participation Overview

ColumbiaGrid’s bylaws identify both the role of members and “qualified non-member participants” in the organization. The members play a significant role in the mission and structure of ColumbiaGrid.  Members and non-member participants, with input from interested persons, develop, draft, and execute functional agreements that define ColumbiaGrid's programs.

There are currently eight members of ColumbiaGrid: Avista Corporation, Bonneville Power Administration, Chelan County PUD, Grant County PUD, Puget Sound Energy, Seattle City Light, Snohomish County PUD, and Tacoma Power. The members elect a board of directors, are responsible for the bylaws, and authorize ColumbiaGrid to enter into Functional Agreements.

Douglas County PUD participates in ColumbiaGrid in the status of a qualified non-member participant.  Douglas has signed onto ColumbiaGrid's Planning and Expansion Functional Agreement (PEFA).

ColumbiaGrid encourages broad participation in its activities. An entity can become involved as a member, participant, interested person, or simply attend ColumbiaGrid’s public meetings as an interested observer.


Member: Avista Corporation      Project: ColumbiaGrid     

"In ColumbiaGrid, we now have the ability to resolve the three fundamental transmission questions: What transmission facilities should be built? Who should build them? Who should pay for them? With ColumbiaGrid's independent staff and process to resolve disputes, we can answer these questions effectively and in a timely fashion to facilitate our region's new resource development needs."
~~ Jeff Schlect, Manager, Transmission Services, Avista