Return to all Announcements  |  Send to a Friend  |  View Printable

Published: April 19, 2021

Mikkelsen Elected to ColumbiaGrid Board of Directors

In a Special Member Meeting on April 17, Kris Mikkelsen, recently retired CEO, Inland Power & Light Co., Spokane was elected by the ColumbiaGrid Members to fill a vacant position on the Board of Directors. She will join current Board members Jim Miller and Ed Sienkiewicz. Her term starts immediately and will run through mid-2015.    
“Kris has a great deal of public power experience and broad industry knowledge”, says ColumbiaGrid Member, Kenny Dillon, Avista, who announced the results of the Members’ vote at the April 17 Board of Directors Meeting. Board Chair, Jim Miller, added “Ed and I look forward to working with Kris to further ColumbiaGrid’s mission to enhance reliability and efficient use of the transmission grid and bulk power system. Kris will be a strong asset on our team as we look ahead to future challenges and opportunities facing ColumbiaGrid, its Members, and the industry”.  
Ms. Mikkelsen’s 30 years of experience at Inland Power included twelve as CEO, and ten as CFO.  She has served on several boards including Board President of Northwest Requirements Utilities from 2002 – 2012.  She has a strong finance background and has been directly involved in analyzing costs and benefits associated with utility infrastructure investment. She has a Bachelor of Arts in Professional Accounting from Eastern Washington University and currently serves as a board member for Spokane International Airport.


Member: Tacoma Power      Project: ColumbiaGrid     
Tacoma Power

"As a charter member of ColumbiaGrid, Tacoma Power has observed the benefits for its customers of regional transmission planning. Engaging in the ColumbiaGrid collaborative transmission planning process has fostered diverse and innovative solutions. This open process for identifying and resolving transmission challenges has delivered cost-effective reliability to our entire region."
~~ William A. Gaines, Director of Utilities